"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the preceding statement, the author claims that the particular television station should expand coverage on weather and local news to attract more viewers and avoid losing advertising revenues. The premise provided is the large fraction of complaints concerned with less coverage on weather and local news and the cancellation of local business advertisement contracts during that night show. Though his claim well may have merit, but the author presents a poorly reasoned argument based on several questionable premises and assumptions, based solely on the evidence the author offers, we cannot consider his argument valid.

The primary issue in the author's reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated premises. While author claims that a large fraction of complains received are concerned with weather and local news, the data for surge or decline in the total number of complaints about weather and local news is not provided, rather author talks about the major fraction only which is not a true indicator. Moreover, the author states that many local business advertising contracts are cancelled and thus advertising revenue is decreased, but fails to provide information about new advertisement contracts due to the emphasis on national news as the replacement. The author's premises, the basis for his argument, lack any legitimate evidentiary support that render his conclusion unacceptable.

In addition, the author makes several assumptions that remain unproven. The author assumes that if weather and local news is not telecasted, the local viewers will decrease, and as a result local business advertising contracts are cancelled. This assumption does not hold because there can be other factors hike also contributing to cancellation of local contracts like overall decline of coverage, in charges of advertisement, decline in the local business cap, etc. The author weakens his argument by making this assumption and failing to provide explication of links between decreased advertising revenue and increasing weather and local news telecast he assumes exist.

In sum, the author's illogical argument is based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. There has been several flaws in the premises like no information of total number of complains instead of the major fraction and data about new contracts made due to emphasizing more on national news. The author's unexplained assumption of decrease in local advertising contracts due to less weather and local news telecasted is also highlighted. If author truely hopes to change his reader's mind on the issue, he would have to largely restructure his argument, fix the flaws in logic, clearly explicate the assumptions, and provide evidentiary support. Without these things, the author's poorly reasoned argument will likely convince few people.