Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether a college student should choose the field of study on the basis of his own talent and interests or this decision should be based on the availability of jobs in that field. In my opinion, considering our own interests and inclinations while choosing the field of study is the most required one. I will argue that, in most of the cases, understanding our own skills and interests weighs more than considering number of jobs available while selecting a particular study field.

Firstly, I will present an example from the scientists community of India to support my argument. Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam was inclined towards science, technology, and missiles since from his childhood. But while choosing the field of study in college, his decision of studying Aerospace Engineering was not driven by the availability of jobs in that field, because in 1960s, there were no ISRO or any other esteem organisation to offer jobs in specifically this field. But his decision was driven by his interests and capability which led to the establishment of ISRO and many more successful projects for the country. This example supports my argument and proves that how a decision based on interest rather than job availability culminated to a huge success and respect for a man from India.

Furthermore, I will like to share my personal experience with a friend. When I was pursuing engineering, I had a friend who was also in my batch. He has probably taken engineering because of the immense availability of jobs in this field but he was not at all interested in it. As a result, after the semester result, he performed poorly and after careful introspection he quit the engineering and went for CA which was his actual interest, but could not choose it due to difficulties in getting jobs. Now, when I see him again, as a CA, which was his interest driven choice, he has his own chamber and working successfully and happily. This personal experience shows that how a decision forced on us on the basis of job availability only can lead to disaster which in turn can be proved to success by listening to the voice of our interests and abilities.

However, there may be some cases also where my argument does not hold true. If there is a boy from very poor family and can bear expenses for two time food hardly, and he wishes to choose medical, one of the most expensive study field in India, on the basis of his interests and abilities but his family is unable to pay the fees. Then in this case the decision of selecting study field should have been dependent on other factors also like job availability, fees of course, etc. rather than only his interests. This example shows the possibility of exceptions in the argument.

In conclusion, I believe, the student should carefully introspect his interests and talents also to choose the study field and job availability is not an appropriate criteria for this decision in most of the cases. To bolster my argument, the first example from scientists community and other cases from my personal experience is shared. However, there is some room of exception also evident from the third case presented. In sum, decision of study field should be majorly driven by interests and talents rather than jobs available to enhance personal and collective development .