An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument presented , while identifying the problem, suggests a solution that is narrow in scope. It also focuses on only one solution without exploring other solutions.

First and foremost, it is necessary to identify not just the problem, but the cause of the problem. It can be possible that the people of Tagus have sufficient amount of vitamin A in their diet but due to some some other factor, for example an imbalanced diet which aids the body in absorbing vitamin A, might be the true cause of the deficiency.Similarly there might be many more factors which the author fails to recognize.Instead of trying to solve the problem head on focus should be on solving the root cause of the problem.

By taking the above example, the government can simply make efforts to provide a more balanced diet to the population which would automatically resolve the problem of Vitamin A deficiency.

The passage mentions that they adoption of the new millet variety will be good without actually presenting any proof for the same. The new breed should be tested for resiliency against the original crop. The new breed can be more difficult to grow or maintain which would deter the farmers to grow it. If this is true, the expense of growing them increases and if that happens, the additional cost might actually negate the subsidies that farmers receive for adopting the new crop and thus increase the financial burden on the already impoverished people of Tagus which would then lead to the government lending more subsidies to farmers thereby draining the cash reserves of the government. This would actually have a more negative effect than a positive one.

While the passage does suggest a possible solution to the problem, it is the only solution that the author focuses on and that solution can go wrong due to multiple reasons mentioned above. The author fails to explore various other solutions that can be possible for example creating a new breed of some other crop which is cheaper than millet and encourage the people to adopt it instead of millet. This way the problem can be solved in a much more cost effective manner. Another way possible way would be to combine multiple solutions to eradicate the problem so that it does not bring in recurring costs.

Additionally, before implementing the suggested solution, the international development organization should also think about how the subsidies given to be farmers will be recovered. It needs to make sure that the subsidies given should collapse the cash reserves thereby eliminating the scope of carrying out similar exercises in the future.

Too much of anything is not good and same applies to the solution proposed by the author. If let's say the proposed solution works, the international development organization should be well prepared to control the usage of this crop more than it was intended for. If the crop is used more, it might make the original millet variety to become extinct thereby affecting the bio-diversity. It can also can also cause excess of vitamin A leading to to other mdeical problems.

While the passage does provide a solution, this solution is not supported by proper data and planns and hence it is not advisable for the governemnt to blindly do anything that it can to promote this new breed of millet