An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The people in Tagus are suffering from a deficiency of Vitamin A, thus to combat this deficiency , an international development organisation has made a new breed of millet which is high in Vitamin A. The new breed is developed with the assumption that the people in Tagus will readily adopt this change in millet as millet is the staple food in Tagus and this will help reducing the Vitamin A deficiency in the people.

There are a lot of assumptions that the argument failed to consider. The new breed millet seeds are costly than the normal seeds and farmers will be given subsidies for farming the new variety of the seeds. The author assumes that the farmer will agree to grow the new breed. The author does not compare the cost of growing the new breed with the old breed of millet even after providing subsidies to the farmers. The cost of growing the new breed may exceed the earlier one making farmer disinterested in growing the new breed of millet.It is also assumed that the new breed of millet does not require any special conditions in terms of weather, water or manure requirements and can be grown under the same conditions as the old millet seeds.

In regards with the consumer of the finished millet products, the author assumes that the consumer will readily adopt to this new change in millet. The argument fails to consider the impact of new improvised millet on the rates of the millet. Due to the increased rates of the millet, it may be possible that people will still favor to buy the old millet. Also, there may be chances that the new engineered millet may taste different than the previous one. This can impact a lot, as millet being the staple food, most of the people will be habitual with its taste and it may a possibility that people would not like the new taste.

To conclude, the argument have some serious flaws and make a lot of assumptions to conclude that the Vitamin A deficiency can be cured using the new breed of millet. The government can run a experiment on the sample population to find out the people inclinations towards the new improvised millet and then conclude on the basis of the experiment about the impact of the new millet.