It has been noted over the past two years that the incidence of vandalism has steadily increased in Carlton County. At the same time, it has been noted that there is a dramatic increase in out-of-state migrants who have moved to Carlton County over the past few years. Many citizens of the county believe that these migrants are responsible for the observed increase in vandalism. We, therefore, recommend that the county government should take strict measures to reduce the number of out-of-state migrants in order to prevent further destruction of public property and restore civic order in Carlton County.

The author of the letter throws light on the increased cases of vandalism in Carlton county. He/she also states that most of the citizens of the county feel this rise is due to the increased immigrants in the county in the past two years. However, the argument is rife with false assumptions and some crucial questions need to be answered in order to reach a valid conclusion and find the solution to the stated problem.

While mentioning the increase in vandalism and out-of-state immigrants, the author fails to provide a reference to any survey or reliable data. How many cases of vandalism were reported, on an average within a certain time period in Carlton County prior to the two years mentioned? By how much have these cases increased in these two years? At the same time, how many migrants have entered the county in these two years? Can the term "dramatic increase" in the second line of the argument be quantified? These are some of the questions that need to be answered regarding the observation that many citizens of the county have made. Without these quantifications, the argument lacks a measurable basis.

Another factor that needs to be taken into consideration is the vandalism itself. What is the nature of these crimes? How many of them have been investigated thoroughly by the local police? During such investigations, how many cases can be effectively traced back to the migrants? Without answering these questions and without proper investigation, blaming the out-of-state migrants can be erroneous. The metric stated in the argument can merely be a coincidence. Another question which is crucial with this line of reasoning can be, is this increased influx of migrants advantageous to the county? The increasing migrants can very well be beneficial for the county. For instance, it can be the source of increased revenue. Therefore, reducing the number of migrants blindly, can harm the county.

Usually, vandalism is an act commited my miscreants who do not have a proper job, like teenagers and youngsters. It would be helpful to know the average age of the migrants coming in to the county. Do they contain a substantially higher number of youngsters? Why are they moving to Carlton County? If it is to earn a living, on official business then it is unlikely that they would cause a damage to public property. Furthermore, what kind of community does Carlton County have? Do the citizens of the county have a day-to-day job? Have many of them recently lost their source of livelihood which has given them time to indulge in these petty crimes and destroy public property? After all, an idle mind is a devil's workshop.

Keeping in mind all these factors, a thorough investigation is required into the acts of vandalism that have been stated in the argument. The questions regarding the number of cases of vadalism prior to the influx of migrants, investigation of these acts, the reason for the influx of migrants and their average age need to be answered before reaching a plausible conclusion. Also, the citizens and community that prospers in Carlton County needs to be scrutinized closely before blindly blaming the migrants for the vandalism.