"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

In this argument the author claims that a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable. To justify his claims, the author cites following facts. (1) Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe because of which it attracted 100,000 people to Monroe's annual jazz festival. (2) Since the nearest jazz club is an hour away many local people would come to club. (3) Jazz fan spends close to $1000 per year on jazz entertainment. However, the author arrived at this conclusion based on three unwarranted assumptions, if not substantiated, will dramatically weaken the argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that many locals would come to the new club since the nearest jazz club is an hour away. However, this may not be the case. People might be going to the club which is an hour away not only because of, it being only the club nearer to them but for its good service and low price. Morever that club might have high reputation and loyal customer base who would travel an hour to reach the club. Hence this evidence does not prove that jazz club in Monroe would be profitable.

Secondly, the author assumes that jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe. To support this statement the author claims that over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer. However, it may be possible that most of the people who attended Monroe's annual jazz festival may be non-locals or foreigners who may not visit Monroe that frequently. In this case only few of the locals will come to the new club that is being opened. Hence this evidence doesn't prove that jazz club in Monroe would be profitable

Finally, the author also assumes that $1000 spending all of the jazz enthusiasts will go into visiting the jazz club. However, this seems to be a baseless assumption. They might be spending the amount on buying the jazz cds and jazz instruments. All the spending may not essentialy go into visiting jazz club. For instance, a jazz enthusiast who is fond of listening jazz music at home but not interested in going to clubs will spend most of his jazz spending on buying the jazz cds.

In the conclusion, the jazz music club in Munroe may not be tremendously profitable as it based on above unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to support these assumptions with some concrete evidence there is fair chance that it may be profitable.