"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer states that a jazz music club in Monroe will achieve an enormous profit. To buttress the argument, several reasons are provided: the popularity of jazz music, the expenditure on jazz entertainment people make, and the nearest jazz club away from one-hour distance. The argument, however, is untenable if many unwarranted assumptions on which it lies cannot be confirmed.

The first assumption that jazz music is popular in Monroe is based on three evidences: one is over 100,000 people participated in jazz festival last summer, the other is "Jazz Nightly" gets the highest rating, coupled with properties there by a number of well-known jazz musicians. If the majority participators came to Monroe only once, and will never return, if Jazz Nightly rating depends hinges greatly on freely-donating advertisements, if these jazz musicians purchase houses just for investment, maybe all of these people will not spend any money on a jazz music club in Monroe. So, it is uncertain for a new jazz club about whether it will have a large number of consumers or not.

Additionally, the writer introduces a recent nationwide study that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, assuming that there is a huge potential for a new jazz club in Monroe. But the study may be biased, rough, or may be suitable simply to the nation, not to Monroe. And, jazz fans may spend $1,000 per year on instruments, records, instead of clubs. In this respect, the market potential of a new jazz music club in Monroe seems slight.

The third assumption is that a new jazz music club in Monroe may also have no competitors, relying on the evidence that the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Nevertheless, capital often floods into profitable markets. If jazz clubs in Monroe have a bright future, it must draw large numbers of investors to influx, instigating cruel competition. In this way, the first jazz club will gradually lose its market share. So, no information makes sure that a new jazz music club in Monroe will monopolize market.

Valid though all above-mentioned assumptions are, it thereby asserts a jazz club will have a tremendous profit. It may be too preposterous to be credible. As a new music club, it may get so hard without experiences in management and operation, which play a crucial role in the sustainability of a club. Moreover, with no feasibility analysis, it is vague about whether a jazz club is profitable or not, how much the profit will be, not to mention tremendous profits.

To sum up, a credible investigation about the potential market of a jazz music club in Monroe and a systematic feasibility analysis will make lenders willing to put out money on such a project. Otherwise, simply by these unjustifiable assumptions is it difficult to persuade loaners to lending money on a jazz music club in Monroe.