It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

It is fairly clear that we are social animals, which naturally belong to this kind of group or that. But how do we define us? Either identification with social groups or other ways? In reality, everybody experiences different social groups in his life, and so he defines himself from diverse perspectives. Importantly, it is wise for us to define ourselves in a complete sphere, both social groups and individual uniqueness, together with the changeability and mutability of the self.

We define ourselves through our identification with social groups because we seek for a feeling of belonging and identity. As a child, we play with those with shared interests, and gradually growing, we enter into schools, forming the groups of study, in which we discuss problems, communicate with each other about how to improve the performance of learning. After stepping into the society, we hunt for job in which we're engaged for a team in a department of a company. In the process, we can get a clear understanding of ourselves by the recognition of others, the affirmation of the team——Who am I? What can I do? What's the standard of my behavior? How do I discern things happened in the world? Only in this way can we explicitly know our role in the groups in order to attain individual or team's goals. In short, we always stay with those who have the same belief, religion, values system, and the like, either in life or in work.

However, our identification with social groups is not equal to the real self: after all, everybody is unique, just as no leaves are exactly the same in the world. There are two major reasons. One is that everyone is multidimensional, another is that everybody exhibits different self in different environments.

Everybody has another self, far from what he/she shows on the surface, which really is distinctive from others. In family, siblings have different temperaments, hobbies, talents, values, beliefs; in school, a student may participate in diverse interest classes or clubs, in which he is cultivated to find his multiple talents; in society, one will pursue for this sort of occupation and that in this way he can discover his potential capabilities, all of which beneficial for him to find the real self. Even if in one team, the members have the difference in cooperation, communication, ability in doing the same work, so one's real self cannot be fully reflected by the performance of a group. One may be expert in a job, but not skilled at another, only by finding his own distinction can he exert his complete potentiality. Moreover, in specific situation, another self, which one has not realized self before, emerges. For instance, faced with the different difficulties, one may have various attitudes: sometimes braveness, sometimes fear, sometimes calmness.

Last but not least, as we change and develop, so does our definition of self. For one thing, with the change of one's experiences like study, life and work, his beliefs, values, capabilities will change greatly, especially the effects of catastrophic incidents. When wealthy man suffers from big disease, he may realize that money is one part of his life, the health and happiness is the key, which will guide his behavior in the future. For another, people are usually self-investment to be a man he desires. For this reason, he defines himself according to the progress he makes, from one stage to another in hierarchical sphere in human society. One man must have views of world in being a leader apart from being an employee.

All in all, it is wise to define ourselves from all-around perspectives, both our identification with social groups and our uniqueness, and the definition of self should change with the development of individuality.