Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city.

The writer of argument concludes that the installation of high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg will decline the vandalism and revitalize the neighborhoods. As a matter of fact, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that is rests on the list of assumptions all of which can be challenged in the one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the declination of crimes in Belleville is related to the installation of the lighting system in the city. However, as there are no any cogent data about this situation to prepare the links among these two factors, this assumption is opened to the doubts. Perhaps, besides the high-intensity lighting, the police stations in Belleville enhance their equipment and are more aware of the vandalism in the city and possess the well-organized system to control the situations. Or maybe, there is a new policy in Belleville which prepares the bulks of occupation and earning resources instead of the crimes; consequently, the population is devoted from the vandal tasks and their incomes to acquire more money. Either scenario provides a possible explanation for the decrement of vandalism beyond the lighting system.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer considers that Amburg is identical to Belleville in all aspects; thus, the lightning will be effective in Amburg too. Even in the case which the high-intensity lighting in Amburg is effective, since there is no any lucid evidence about these two cities and their similarities, the surmise of equal result in Belleville is suspicion. Maybe the rate of crimes the Amburg is higher than the Belleville and they are deep-rooted with a knotty and substance consequence, which the lighting cannot be accountable for its control. Or perhaps, the majority of vandalism in Amburg is related to the internet-crimes such as the fake internet bank account for purchases. In this case, the high-intensity lighting cannot be considered as plausible solution for them. Without accounting these and other possible dissimilarities, the relation of the Belleville city's result to the Amburg will be facile and inaccurate.

The third problem with the argument is that the writer surmises that as the quantities of vandalism decrease, the abandon neighborhoods in the city will relief. However, there is no any explicit information about this abandon. Maybe, this declining neighborhood in the city is in the sake of the scanty facilities, which are required by the citizens. In this case, the decrement of crime cannot be responsible of this revitalization till the city provides the demanded requirements. Or perhaps, the abandon is related to old-style of houses in city; which do not suite with the today's lifestyle and standards. As a result, as the main reason of the decreasing dweller is vague, this relationship among the lighting and the revitalization is superficial.

All in all, to persuade me that this conclusion is valid, the writer should provide the list of reasons and evidences that the decrements of vandalism in Belleville is related to the lighting, these two city are same, and the desert of neighborhood in the city is in the sake of the crimes. Otherwise, all mentioned assumptions are inaccurate and vague.