The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce."Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. T

The author claims that the high-intensity lighting is the best way to prevent vandalism. For supporting the above argument, the author gives quite interesting reasoning; however, the above reasoning contains some loopholes. For addressing such loopholes, the author needs to provide some additional information.

Firstly, the author provides data only from October, which is insufficient to generalise. The solution of high-intensity lighting is not validated for sustainable use until it is used for a long duration such as one year. The author should wait for some time and observe the situation for some time before claiming the solution is very effective. Additionally, he needs to provide other crimes committed to that area so that total crime rate can be calculated.

Furthermore, the author suggests that money invested for bicycle patrols should be diverted to high-intensity lighting. But, these two things are quite different. Money required for bicycle patrolling is less compared to the money required to high-intensity lighting. The Amburg city police may not have ability to spent such large amount of budget.

Finally, the author tries to compare condition at Belleville with Amburg. Belleville central business district may have large cases of vandalism compared to Amburg. So small percentage of decrease can cause significant decline in number of cases related to vandalism.