"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that in order to increase the enrollment and to solve the budget deficits at humana university, Online degree programes needs to be introduced. The argument came to this conclusion because of the increase in the enrollment and decrease in the expenditure for dormitory and classroom at omni university. However the argument doesn't withstand the conclusion because it failed to answer the following three question?

First of all what are the different factors that increased the enrolments at omni university? It was given that Omni university introduced online instructions via internet. The is no valid data that this is the only factor that increased the enrollment. There may be another reasons like providing the scholarships to the students, an increase in the infrastructure, introducing the new training programs and effective staff. Since there is no valid proof to answer this question the argument loses its point.

Secondly, Does the Humana University located at more populous region or far away from the city? There is a possibility that Omni University is located in the city where more students stay nearby. Many students may work for part time and study. If this is a reason then there is a no point in introducing an online degree program. The argument didnot provide any information about the location of Humuna University which may be the main reason for the increase in the enrollmenmt.

Thirdly, Does the cost of introducing the online degree program less than the expenditure for dormitory and class room space? There is a possibility that Omni University instead of dormitory and class room space invested more amount in providing online degree program. It may be combined with any online platform and does more advertisement.If the above point is true then the cost of intoducing online degree program at Humana university may be more than the expenditures for dormitory and classroom space

Therefore, The assumption made by the arguments doesn't hold water. In order to make the assumption true, the argument needs to provide neccessary data conducted by the surveys or any other valid proofs. Hence the assumption made doesn't seems valid.