from a letter to the editor of a city newspaper

one recent research study has indicated that many adolescents need more sleep than they are getting, and another study has shown that many high school students in our city are actually dissatisfied with their own academic performance. as a way of combating these problems, the high schools in our city should begin classes at 8:30 A.M. instead of 7:30, and end the school an hour later. This arrangement will give students an extra hour of sleep in the morning, thereby making them more alert and more productive. Consequently, the students will perform better on tests and other assignments, and their academic skills will improve significantly.

The argument was about that many adolescents do not get sleep as much as they need and many school students dissatisfied with their academic performances. because of that, the author suggested start school one hour later than when it was fixed. The author confluence two different arguments into one conclusion. The argument is based on unwarranted reasons and flawed for the following reasons.

First of all, the author merges two different arguments to extract one conclusion. It might be possible that adolescents were not getting their sleep and many students unhappy with their performance, but that does not prove that less sleep harms the performance of the students. It might be possible that the sleep was not complete because of the students stay wake long nights and because of that their sleep was not complete. If they go early to bed then might they could fulfill their sleep. Besides, there are no data provided by the author that they conduct a survey on students that because of the incomplete sleep the performance was hindered. If the survey had been done, there is no actual data on how many students take part in that survey.

The author also claimed that academic performance was disturbed because of incomplete sleep. By this claim, the author ignored the school or academic's responsibility. It might be possible that the students were dissatisfied with their performance on a single subject or maybe with specific exam performance. The is no pragmatic data that proves that the students dissatisfied with their overall academic performance. the author also ignored the faults of students and their study pattern.

The author also claimed that by temporizing the time by one hour the students might get extra sleep, but there is not a certainty that late school timings for one hor could help the students. It might be possible that may school started the class after 8:30 am, even after that students could not complete their sleep. Since there is no data that proves how students feel about the school timing or how many schools start the class at 7:30 am. it might be possible that by early start the class they school finished early and students get their sleep after they get back their home.

The following argument is flawed and based on unwarranted reasons. The author failed to provide any convincing data that proves that the incomplete sleep caused the dissatisfied academic performance or by postponed the school timing for one hour the problem will be solved.