Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

In the letter to the editor of the national aeronotics magazine it is stated that, the resources should be invested in unmanned space flight because of the degree of danger and cost associated with manned flights. The opinion is based on the following unstated assumptions which need to be cleared so that the conclusion gets its ultimate validation.

Firstly, in the letter it is assumed that the success attained in the recent series of unmanned space flights will continue in the coming years too. For instance, the next space flight without men will face a terrible accident causing a large scale damage of expensive computers and high resolution cameras which ccould also be used in some other space flights. The deleterious effect of the accident might surpass the cost of manned space flights. And if this happens, the opinin presented in the letter will not hold water.

Secondly, the letter does not state what happens when a space flight faces a problem that requires a instant solution and the computerized robot in the satellite probes does not know how to solve it. Suppose during the flight one of the engine cylinder starts to leak fuel. If this situation goes on, it can result in the burst of the space craft. The space probes are not equipped with necessary codes to solve this type of problem. Had there be some men in the spacecraft, they would be able to solve the cylinder leakage with attaching necessary sealers in the leaked portion and prevent a catasclysmis accident from taking place.

Further, the author of the letter assumes that the nature of data and information gathered by maaned and unmanned space flights are same. But what if this is not the case. For instance, the data and image gathered by the maaned space flights are absolutely different from the one gathered by unmanned flights. And if this happens then investing soley on the unmanned flight to space will do nothing but limit extent of our knowledge of the mysterious space and galaxy which could simply be attainable by sending men to the space.

In conclusion, the opinion presented in the letter is based on some unwarranted assumptions. This assumptions need to e lucidated for the argument to become more persuasive otherwise it will loose its justification.