The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple country predicts that preventing the country from becoming overdeveloped by mitigating the development of its farmland can increase the prices of housing in the country considerably. This prediction can be justified if the following three questions are answered.

First of all, Does the development of farmland in Maple country directly proportional to the increase of housing prices? Perhaps the restriction of development on the farmland leave extra places for people to build houses. Thus the net area suitable for housing in the country will increase and as we all know when there is an abundance of something, the price of the thing is supposed to fall. If this is true, the prediction by the council will not hold water.

Secondly, Does the farmland provide raw material for building new houses? For instance, if the farmland, proposed to be prevented from development actually provide wood for building new houses? What if it produces corn or mustard or sunflower. This way, the prevention of existing farmland will actually suffer the initial goal of the council, that is to prevent the country from being overly developed and the target will be achieved.

Further, Does the prevention of development of the existing farmland actually ensures harnessing the country's development? For example, Maple country can be largely dependent on its automobile manufacture and assembly industries and the majority of the country's income comes from these industries. Again, if their is a decrease in farmland, people can build new automobile manufacturing factories there and consequently the country will be developing even more. If either of these is true, the issue of the development of farmland will not contribute anything to the prevention of Maple country's development.

If any of the above possibilities is true, the prediction of the council that the prevention of restricting the development of prevailing farmland would adversely affect the price of new housing will not hold water. So to come to a conclusion, the aforementioned questions need to be answered.