A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Students are the one who undoubtedly cast a huge effect on the future of a nation and the way how a nation train them for the future poses a huge impact on their mindset. The prompt suggests that a nation makes its students, all of them to study the same curricular till college. I strongly agree with this for the following two reasons.

First of all, in the advent on one's student life, he/she is mostly naive and unable to decide what will be good for him, what are the subjects he actually likes, and most important, will he/ she eve like them as they grow up? Therefore having a fixed curriculum mandatory for all in the school level might be the best way for them. Suppose a four year old is told to choose the subject he wants to study for his junior classes? He might choose english liternature, history, psychology but didn't choose any subjects of mathematics? This way he will not have the basic idea of mathematics untill high school. This will, of course, cast a bad impact on his future. Moreover, studying psychology at such early age might also prove to be an unsuitable decision for a student. Because at such age he will not be able to comprehend some of the ideas, and theories that require a mature brain. Thus having a previously fixed curricular for all in the school level, combined with all the basic subjects of science, humanities, business studies will help a student grow a firm foundation for future.

Secondly, if the students follow different study curriculum it might prove to be a problem to evaluate their skill for college admission. For example, if a student with a Humanities' background want to enroll for an engineering major, how is the authority going to evaluate his skills, with presumably near to zero knowledge in science? That way the authority cannot go for a common assessment process for all because considering the huge amount of students that take admission in college every year, planning a unique assessment process based on their past subjects is nothing less than impossible.

Thirdly, a common curriculum for everyone ensures that every students have studied the same subjects and by the time they reach college they are mature enough to decide which courses of field of study one is more interested in. For instance, with a fixed array of courses a student is expected to have known more or less everything that was in his syllaabus, so he/she can now decide if he wants to build his career in political science, or mechanical engineering, or physics or accounting. And since by the time he have achieved a certain level of maturity the decision taken at this stage are less likely to change later.

One might argue that, what if one doubt his/ her decision even after the college stage, when you cannot change the decision . but life is a game of chances and you cannot just avoid this.