Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of KICK radio station recommends to increase the number of call-in programs to capture a larger number of listener based on the success of WCQP radio station in Rockville. The recommendation needs to be bolstered by the following three questions for it be fully justified.

First of all, are the two radio stations comparable to each other? The manager of KICK assumes that the gain of listener in WCQP due to the increase of call-in programs will follow the same trend in KICK. But this might not be the case. What if the residents in the coverage area of KICK are mostly corporate personnel and in that case participating in a call in a program and ask questions or share their own view might not be a probable scenario for them. If so, increasing the number of call in programs will not contribute to the gain in listeners.

Secondly, Are the listeners actually interested in call in programs? The survey presses that the listeners like call in programs and this is the reason why WCQP radio station in Rockville has the increased number of listeners. But perhaps, the listener augmentation is due to the areas gain in population and so more people are listening to radio in that area. For example, the nearby area of Rockville had faced and unfortunate cyclone two years ago which resulted in many of the residents in the area to migrate to Rockville. And they frequently listen to radio to know about latest news and update about their own city which caused the increase in listeners in the area. If this is true, then the recommendation of KICK"s manager will not hold water.

Further, is the number of listeners in a radio program depend on whether it supports call-in facility or not? For example, if a radio station hosts a horror show, which requires to maintain a certain level of suspense and mystery in the atmosphere. If the audiences are allowed to call and take part in the program the environment may get ruined and the story might loose its appeal. If this happens, the listeners will not be able to like the show which will result in a gradual decrease in listeners. In this circumstance, the proposal to increase the number of call in programs will not be able to increase the number of listener.

In conclusion, the recommendation by the manager of KICK is based on some unwarranted assumptions which needs to be cleared to answer the questions mentioned above. Otherwise the proposal will not be justified.