Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

University life is the phase in a person's life where s/he actually gains practical ideas about life, bringing out what he/she actually wants to do in their life and make decisions accordingly. The courses or subjects you study here inarguably possess an important role in this aspect. The prompt suggests that universities make students take different other courses abreast their major field of study. In my opinion I mostly agree with this recommmendation for two reason. However, I admit that the study pressure of additional subjects might impose a deleterious effect on the student.

To start, if a students strickly adheres to his major courses it might limit his/her vision and thought process and for this having idea about other courses relating to a different field of study can help him think differently. For instance, in many countries it is required that engineering students take a certain percentage of their total credit for the courses related to humanities. It is done so that in the addiction of development, innovation, they do not forget about their surroundings that might suffer for their precipitous steps. It widens their outlook and pushes them to choose a way that is both compatible with development and preservation of humanity.

Further, when a student chooses his/her major, he/she mostly does this keeping in mind the job section of the subject. But what if by the time he/ she finishes their study, the subject looses it's appeal to the employers. For instance, enviroment science and related subjects did not seem lucrative rather boring subjects to the students in the beginning of 20th century. But with time we see that people are getting more concerned with the preservation of enviromnent and the minimization of pollution. This way a student who chose political science as a major might fall for a restricted job market now in the current period. So if we teach our students with different courses other than just their main study field, it will put them in a job market with a variety of options.

However I concede that the pressure of additional courses may distract him from his main field and have a rather damaging effect, but does not every great achievement comes with a greater price?

In conclusion, university study pressure is nothing but rigorous and one must conform to it to attain success in their later life. Making oneself acquainted with diversified courses might just be the perfect step toward a successful future. So in my opinion the recommendation stated in the prompt is agreeable.