The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The results presented in the business magazine suggest that, a business firm should hire people who require to sleep less than 6 hours in the night for it to become successful. The suggestion is based on the following three unwarranted assumptions that need to be cleared for the proposal to be justified.

First of all, the article assumes that the success of a business firm depends only on its ececutives, that is the senior employee of the company. But this might not be the case. For instance, in a soft drink manufacturing company, executives are mainly the one who organize the rules, set up work schedules for shift managers and those who are in charge of the production and others but the successful of the job depends on the efficiency of the one who do the job, who are directly involved with it. In that case, studying only the executives is not supposed to serve the actual purpose.

Secondly, the article assumes that, sleep is the only parameter that determines the success of a business farm. But what if this is not the case. For a person to be more focused, and work oriented, a number of things play a huge role, not only sleep. For example, If his/ her family life is not peaceful enough, he/she will not be able to give his best to his professional career and consequently his/her performance will degrade. Thus judging a persons success only on his sleep duration will not be a plausable process to follow.

Further, the result in the article assumes that all other business farm will follow the success trend of the advertising firms on which the study has been conducted, But it is possible that other business firms are not based on the same motto of the advertising agencies related in the study. Suppose, in an advertising firm the prosperity might depend on how much time the executives can input in the company, but for a law firm, the success depends on how efficiently it solves the clients' legal problem. Sleeping more, this case might help the lawyer to think fresh and differently. Thus the suggestion in the article does not hold water here.

In conclusion, the suggestion in the article must be backed up by these aforementioned unstated assumptions. Otherwise, the proposal might loose it's justifyability to the readers.