"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the letter to the editor, the author concludes that resources should be concentrated in space flights without humans to avoid precarious situation. The author comes to this conclusion based on "recent success" events associated with the use of unmanned space probes. While it might prove true according to the author, as it stands now, the author needs to address three unwarranted assumptions that could hamper the credibility and validity of its recommendation.

First of all, a possibilty that could reduce the credibility of such claims is that, the author, without justification, presumes that "recent success" of several unmanned space probes is indicative or representative of other successes in the past years. This might not hold true. It is possible that the previous years showed that there were not much risks encountered as it were thought to have happened. Even if it encountered some risk, there could be some limitations as to the importance of a human present to factor the possiblity of life present in the vast space.If the above scenario is true that the "recent success" is not a true representation of accounts of success rate, then the credibility of the author's conclusion is significantly reduced.

Moreover, a possibilty that could diminish the validity of such conclusion is that, the author, without verification, assumes that if humans are not allowed in space, there would be reduction in cost and risk. This might not hold water. perhaps, what if there are other factors, aside such assertion, are involved let's say, the robot used in question cannot be used to test for human life existence. Also,it is possible that climate changes and enviroment factors could affect the launch of the space jet.

If the above scenario is true , then credibility of the author's conclusion is considerably diminished.

Finally, a possibilty that could hamper the credibility of such asssertions is that, the author, without justification, presumes that manned space flight is dangerous. Perhaps, the premises through the data was assessed was faulty and wrong results were brought forth without proper tools to check if every conditions are safe. even if the tools were not faulty, it is possible that they were tired as at the time of assessing if it will be unsafe or not.

If the above scenario is true , then credibility of the author's conclusion is significantly hampered.

In conclusion, in order for the author to increase or improve the persuasiveness of his conclusion, he would need to provide answers to the aforementioned scenarios.