All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Over the decades, the growth of companies are dependent on the effectiveness and competence of their employees. This can either mar or break the success of any growing company. The prompts addressed this issue by proposing that external consultants should be kept at bay and pay attention to the opinions of their employees. I mostly disagree with the position for the following two reasons. However, I do concede that the biased nature of employees could be an issue.

First of all, employing the hands of an external consultant would remove any element of bias. They would literally give their candid opinion of what needs to be done or ways in which the company can improve productivity. For instance, consider a food manufacturing company experiencing a low sales rate for five years. How do they improve since they have been using the same method without knowing what other options to explore? This company would need the hands of an external consultant who can view the lens from another point of you and profer solutions to help grow the company.

In addition, external consultants are known to have been more experienced in the field, probably after acquiring lots of qualifications to suit and bolster their career. According to the popular adage "the new broom sweep cleaner, but the old broom knows the corners", external consultants are known for their competence and experience in the field, which makes them credible for proferring opinions towards the needs of their clients.

Some people might argue that employees could be trained to execute such job descriptions owing to the fact that they have more insights into every nook and cranny of the company.

However, these could lead to procurement of cost on the company, as training employees will demand more cost accretion. Also, bias nature of the employees would not allow them to frankly give opinions and would rather be dishonest in requests and budgets for consultancy.

In conclusion, companies who would want to improve their overall performance would require an external consultant to profer candid opinions on how they could achieve their objective more successfully.