We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumni who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all-female, therefore, will improve morale among students and convince alumni to keep supporting the college financially.”

According to the recommendation by the president, The author concludes that Grove College having only females will boost the morale of the student and will galvanize respective alumnae to financially contribute to the well-being of the school. The author comes to this conclusion based on a survey conducted by the student government. While this suggestion may prove true, as it stands now, the author would need to answer unwarranted three questions that could hamper the credibility of its recommendation.

First of all, is 80% representative of the population to conclude on such a recommendation? Perhaps, the students who responded to the survey of probably a population of 1000 were biased, based on their foundational friendship built among their peers. what if those who did not respond were sick the day it was conducted and may probably choose another option? It is possible that based on these scenarios that might have constituted the statistics, would require more evidences to increase the persuasiveness of such argument. If this example above presented is true, then the author's conclusion is significantly hampered.

In addition, is a majority of faculty members representative? or was the survey conducted effectively? It is possible that a majority could be 1 out of 2, or 5 out of 10. It would be possibly inaccurate to base such recommendation on such premise. Perhaps, the time the survey was conducted, they were quite tired and might have mistakenly entered a wrong census of the population. If the above scenarios proves true, then the author's argument is considerably diminished.

Finally, on what premise is the author certain that the alumnae would keep supporting in the coming years? Perhaps, the alumnae's job is quite stable at a particular time, and could only support within the available. it is possible that as a result of certain inevitable circumstances, he loses his job and so no source of income. then how would it be certain that in the coming years there would be sufficient support in terms of finance to the college. If the above scenarios proves true, then the author's argument is considerably diminished.

In conclusion, In order for the persuasiveness of the author's recommendation to be improved, he needs to provide answers to these questions. If not the author's recommendation would not hold water.