"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

The decision regarding investment in unmanned space flight must be properly reviewed prior to acceptance. As it is mentioned in the letter to the editor, manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Adding to it, recent success of unmanned space flight is given as an example. But these arguments are not properly evidenced. To consider certain skeptical things regarding the statements in the letter, certain issues needs to be addressed.

Firstly, it is mentioned that the manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Nevertheless, there is no proper reasoning about why is the flight dangerous. Any instances, about certain dangerous accidents that have occurred where not elicited. The flight is said to be costly, but the reasons for the higher costs was not discussed. Any additional security measures taken, may be a reason for the increase in the costs. Without addressing these reasons, considering the higher costs as a reason to reject manned space fight may not be an wise decision.

Secondly, success of series of unmanned space probes and satellites was addressed. The success of the series can be because of various factors like the design of the system, the conditions under which it was launched. Creating a similar environment even to unmanned space flights may not be always possible. The re-creation of its entire system similar to that of unmanned space probes and satellites is involved with copious costs.

Thirdly, excluding man and purely relying on machinery to gather useful information as in unmanned space flight may not be an applaud-able decision. After all, man has created all this machinery, he can more wisely use his intellect in collecting the information. In fact man has more solid reason of why he is collecting all this data, he can therefore judge within himself regarding what data to collect and what information is actually useful to himself.

Collecting all the pieces together, investment of resources is a very costly decision. It needs utmost solicitude. Without considering each issue carefully one can not directly take a decision. All the arguments mentioned above must be properly addressed and bolstered with proper evidence only then the editor can decide on this issue of investment and decide wisely.