The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meal

The argument of the parent in the letter to the principal of Kensington Academy is reasonable but also equally flawed. The request to supercede Swift Nutrition with another vendor cannot be executed until the various loopholes in the argument are properly addressed. The opinions given by the parent is not proved to be true, for various reasons which are discussed below.

Firstly, there is a generalized statement provided based on the opinions of just few students, which is not appreciable. The parent had mentioned that his son and his friends had complained about the food, but no evidence that all the other students complained about. It could be the case that probably the food might not be appealing to him and his friends only. Furthermore, Swift Nutrition has taken the management of cafeteria an year back. But the students had complained yesterday. It is skeptical to understand that, how could the food be lacking flavor just within a day, when it was palatable for a complete year.

Secondly, the student had complained only about lunch options. When the same cafeteria is serving all times of the day, how could just meals be tasteless or not enjoyable?. Furthermore, no valid data regarding the kinds of meals supplied and the feedback of other students was mentioned to assert the parents claim. It could also be the case that certain kinds of meals might not be much tastier than others, and the student might have only tasted the former ones. Thereby the student might have come to an partisan analysis of the complete cafeteria.

Thirdly, the statement that hiring Swift resulted in students bringing their own less healthy food is a complete fallacy. Several other factors might have caused the students to bring their own food, probably students might have been interested in eating home made food, or they might not be ready to pay for the costs of food at Cafeteria. Moreover, no evidence was presented or no student data was mentioned, asserting that students are bringing less healthy foods. Predicting the health consequences of students without proper understanding of the cafeteria food is reprehensible.

Finally, to decide over the problem of replacing Swift Nutrition with another vendor, proper analysis on the arguments needs to be conducted. When a company was preferred by the management for cafeteria because of its efforts in health consciousness. One cannot simply replace its position based on some improper arguments. The various flaws mentioned above must be properly reasoned and justified, only then can the decision could be taken forward.