“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.""

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument suggests that unmanned space flights are better compared to manned space flight. The argument is however rife with assumptions that if proved otheriwse, the conclusion, that more resources should be channeled towards unmanned space flight, will prove to be unwarranted.

According to the argument, unmanned space flights have proved to be effective and effecient as useful infromation is gathered without the risks and costs associated with manned space flights. This could hold true but what if the information is found to be inaccurate? This then would mean that the unmanned space flights can be also be expensive as a another space flight would be prompted. In addition, if the discrepancy in the infromation could have otherwise been avoided in the manned flights, then the manned flights would be ideal. If this factor is presented, then the argument is not entirely valid.

The expenses related to space flights are not explicitly stated by the argument but it is clear that the manned fligts are relatively expensive. Perhaps, the technological costs of an unmanned space ships may reqiure heavy capital initial investments compared to manned, and these costs decrease overtime. This can undermine the assumption that the unmanned flights are indeed cheaper: rendering the argument invalid.

The argument also infers that unmanned space flight ships be avoided. This may not always be vericate. The space may diverse and certain areas may require manned flights to the space so as to manouver effectively. If so then, disregarding the manned flights totally will not favor such instances. Therefore, the agency launching the flight may have to make the decision based on whether the manned ships will do better.

In conclusion, the argument is valid however the validity can be undermined should proof against the assumptions be made. The author should consider discussing the implications of both unamnned and