Manned space flight is costly and dangerous Moreover the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

In the article provided in the national aeronautics magazine claims that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight. The author cites based on the assumptions that manned space flight is costly and expensive and the recent success of series of unmanned space missions has demonstrated a great deal of useful information with the costs and risk associated with sendings humans into space. Though, the claim seems ostensible,before concluding we must evaluate certain facts and assumptions.

Firstly, the author mentions the success of series of unmanned space probes, but the author fails to recognize the past record of manned space missions too. He overlooks the mission carried out by missions carried out by Guri Yagarin, Sunita Williams, Neil Armstrong and many more that in the past have gave great results and infact gathering informations which could have not be perhaps found by an unmanned mission.

Secondly, the author fails to understand that certain aspects and phenomenons cannot be studied by a unmanned mission and also the success rate of a planting a rover on any extra terrestrial body is very low. Compared to that, if a manned space mission was is to be done, the astronauts can step on the surface gather relevant information and also collect samples that could help in further research. If the author could explain how this shortcomings can be overcome in a unmanned space mission maybe it could clear certain assumptions.

Thirdly, the author assumes that the manned space missions are more dangerous. But, he overlooks certain factors related to this. If there is a technical glitch in the spacecraft or a space vehicle there is a greater chance for the astronauts manning the spacecraft inside to solve it more effectively. Unmanned space missions are mainly controlled by the techical team sitting in the earth stations. They need to identify the error or the cause of a problem and send a corresponding soltuion as per required. Sometimes, it may take long enough for them to identify the problem or at worse they may find an error but it may be too late for the mission. In the case of manned space missions, the astronaut can quickly find the error and may act acordingly without much delay thus saving the mission from being a failure.

In conclusion, the argument as it now stands is considerably flawed, due to its reliance on certain unstated assumptions. Perhaps, if the author could provide certain annswers and facts particularly in the form of a systematic research we could analyze the viabilty of the claim regarding our investing our resources in unmanned space flights.