Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil

The author claims that the investment in Consolidated Industries should be increased, because based on several evidence the need of fuel for heating in the next years will increased in the northeastern United States where winter in extremely cold, while this claim is without any strong evidence or proof for a couple reasons described in the following.

To begin with the author arguments that the most homes have used fuel as their major fuel for heating, however the author could not provide enough statistics about the actual percent of resident who use fuel as a primary source. After that this evidence which is supported by author about fuel as a primary source is based on a reliable source or just is an assumption Without any strong evidence. In addition, due to the fact that new homes have built in this place, probably use new technology for heating which the author does not consider this fact and just rely on fuel as a primary source.

Secondly article claims a correlated between growth population and increasing demand for fuels. However, this claim is not appropriately justifying that this growth will happen in which years or what is the population growth rate. Another problem with this claim is that author does not take some push factor for migration into consideration. Since, some factors such as unemployment rate, inclement weather play an important role in the demography of population. Thus, if the situation became worth in the future for people who are living in this place, they definitely will leave this place and will settle in another location.

For aforementioned reasons this argument is flawed, although it could be strengthened if the author provides enough information regarding the main fuel in this place and support this claim based on valuable statistics. Further strengthened would be a clear elaboration about the growth of population based on reasonable evidence, not based on conjecture.