"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

In the memo to the board of directors of the company specialized in delivery of heating oil, the author has concluded that there will be an increased demand for the heating oil in the coming five years. The author has come to this conclusion based on a report by climate forecaster and the increasing number of houses in the nearby region. However, before this memo could be properly evaluated, third specific piece of information will need to be provided by the author.

Firstly, the author has blindly relied on the climate forecasters' report reports which, based on last year's heating season, states about the increment in the heating season of the future. The sources of the climate prediction however remains unclear. This could be a report of some local enthusiasts who might have made the assertion simply based on the a insignificant sample of knowledge and without having sufficient scientific reliablity behind it. There could be chances that these enthusiasts might have missed considering certain global adversities such a Global Warming. They could also have been considering certain dogmatic approaches which might have been obsecure in the recent time. If the reliablity of the reports, on which the author has presented his memo, is not justified, his or her aversion could be significantly weakend.

Secondly, the memo relies on the ongoing houses construction in the nearby region that will be considered as a factor of the inrceased demands of the heating oil. The report does not draw any light on the technology that will be introduced in the newly built houses. It could be possible that the new construction introduced some latest heating techniques or uses other heating methods to keep the houses warm during the upcoming heating seasons. There could also be a chance that eventhough the new houses uses the oil based heating technique, it would simple be requiring more and more oil. There could be some upgradation in the oil consumption and so if the author is not able to justify these reasons, his argument will not hold water.

Thirdly, the author has not provided enough evidences about the sell of heating oil in the current or last heating season. Perhaps the locals of the city have simply boycotted the use of heating oil as it might have been producing ample pollution. There could have been some recent awareness compaigns that would have resulted in people discarding the use of conventional heating method and forced to accept new techniques. If this is not guarentted, the authors assertion will be flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considered flawed due to its irrelevance on the sources of its claim and the non-reliablity of unwarrented claim. If the author is able to present sufficient evidence to support his or her argument for the above stated reasons, his claims could be treated to be sufficently reliable.