“Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year, Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms. The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders."

It seems that motilac is effective in preventing serious gastrointestinal disorders, but there is a lot of weakness in the argument.

It is sateted that consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over last seven years, but the reason for increase in consumption is not mentioned. In last seven years, population of Greenhorne residents could have increased by 80% or more that would have augmented the need for more Motilac.

Moreover, Price of Motilac could have decreased in Greenhorne that would have waxed its consumption . Per capita income of residents could have increased that could have augmented demand for Motilac.

Furthermore, last year 5 hospitals reported fewer cases of gastrointestinal disorders. Information is provided about only five hospitals and number of cases is never mentioned.

While there is complete information regarding no. of gastrointestinal disorders in hospitals in Etolin, For Greenhorne, information is provided for only five hospitals. There could be other hospitals where no. of cases of serious gastrointestnal disorders might have increased.