"At nearby Green Mountain College, which has more business courses and more job counselors than does Mira Vista College, 90 percent of last year's graduating seniors had job offers from prospective employers. But at Mira Vista College last year, only 70 percent of seniors who informed the placement office that they would be seeking employment had found full time jobs within three months after graduation, and only half of these graduates were employed in their major field of study. To help Mira Vista's graduates find employment, we must offer more courses in business and computer technology and hire additional job counselors to help students with their resumes and interviewing skills."

The writer of these analytical piece recommends that in order to help Mira Vista College's students to find employment, the college must offer more course in business and computer technology and also hire additional job counselors. To support these recommendation author points out that Green Mountain College offers more business courses and more job counselors than Mira Vista College and last year 90 percent of the seniors have obtained job from prospective employers, on the other hand, only 70 percent of seniors from Mira Vista College has obtained jobs within three months of the graduation. And only half of them has obtained a job in their major field of study. This argument contains many loop-holes which weaken the argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that Green Mountain College has comparatively higher job rate because it provides more business courses and more job counselors. This unsubstantiated assumption leaves a lot of space for doubt. It may be possible that the students studying at Green Mountain College are exceptionally brilliant compared with Mira Vista College. Also, the author has ignored all the other factors that affect the job rate. Moreover, the author has not provided the number of students studying in each college. So without the number of students, we can not compare the placement rates of both the colleges. So, without including all these factors, the author cannot conclude that additional courses in business and computer technology and the hiring of additional job counselors will provide better job-placement opportunities.

Secondly, the author points out that only half of the graduates, who have been placed and from Mira Vista College, have got the job in their respective field of study. But the author has not provided any information about this for its counterpart. It might be possible that only a part of the graduates from Green Mountain College has got the job in their respective field of study. So without providing perfect statistical data, the author can not directly jump to the conclusion which he/she has drawn.

Thirdly, the author has argued that only 70 percent of graduates from Mira Vista College has reported to the job placement office within three months after graduation. The author overlooks the possibility that some of the remaining students have started their own business or also some seniors are wanted to study further. So without statistical data about these informations, the author cannot give the conclusion directly.

Finally, it may be said that the author has failed to make a convincing argument because of the complete absence of statistical data. No convincing reasoning is given. The argument ends with a completely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on wishy-washy observations that are likely to be incorrect.