In a study of reading habits of Leeville citizens conducted by the University of Leeville, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a follow-up study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Leevile was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn an optimistic conclusion, from disjoint and incomplete data that in a study of the reading habits of Leeville citizens misrepresented their true reading habits. To justify this conclusion the follow-up study is conducted by the researchers and they have found that the most frequently checked out material from the public libraries in Leeville was the mystery novels. However, this argument contains certain loopholes which weaken the argument and raise many questions that are left unanswered in the argument.

Firstly, the argument does not provide any information about the time period between the two studies. It might be possible that the second study is conducted after a long time and also there can be a complete change in the preference of reading material by the public individuals. In other words, the greater the time difference between the two studies provides less accurate results. So, this information does not provide strong evidence for the conclusion that the author has drawn.

Secondly, the argument fails to account for a possibility that the public library contains more material related to mystery novels compared with the literary classics. This might be possible because mystery novels are easily available compared with literary classics. Also, novels are quite cheaper than literary classics.

Thirdly, the author has not provided any information about the citizens in the argument. Are both the studies conducted for the same number of people and also the group contains the same citizens or not? This weakens the argument. If every time the group of people is not exclusive, then there is a possibility of obtaining an unfavorable result. Moreover, in the first survey, the most of the citizens in the exclusive group like to read literary classics compared with other reading materials. So, it can be said that they mostly prefer literary classics. But, there can be a case that most of the remaining citizens, that are not included in the survey, prefers mystery novels. This may increase the percentage of citizens who prefer mystery novels.

Again, the author has not provided any statistical information about the number of citizens. This makes the conclusion dubious for the reader.

In general, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of a complete absence of statistical data. No convincing reasoning is given. The argument ends with an entirely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on wishy-washy observations that are likely to be incorrect. To strengthen the argument, both the studies must have the same number and also the same citizens as a reference. In addition, the time period between two studies must be given and also required statistical information must be provided.