In a study of reading habits of Leeville citizens conducted by the University of Leeville, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a follow-up study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Leeville was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

The argument is related to two survey conducted by the University of Leevile and the arguer concluded that the first study is significantly flawed. The author mentioned that in the first survey, the researchers found that most of the inhabitants of Leevile preferred to read literary classics and the second survey concluded that as the type of book most frequently checked out of each public library in Leevile was mystery novel, therefore the people of Leevile like to read mystery novel and that's why the writer concluded that the first survey was critically flawed. However, the author’s argument is not convincing to me because the conclusion of the writer is based on some incorrect assumptions. In the following few paragraphs, I will discuss why the authors conclusion is not convincing to me.

Firstly, the author mentioned two survey which conducted by University of Leevile, but he/she did not elaborate the two surveys, like when the survey conducted, who were the target group etc. Without having detail information about the two survey, we can not conclude that first survey had misrepresented the reading habit of the people of Leevile. It might happen that the group who answered the first survey and the people who answered the second survey are totally different. And that's why the findings of two survey are different and we can not comment that the first survey was flawed.

Secondly, it can be also the case that the rich people in Leevile had the habit of reading literray classics and they usually bought these books rather than going to public library. These people buy the classical books and preserve in their home library. They don't like to go to public library as well as they have no enough time to public library for reading and this resulted into less checked out of literary classics in the register of public library. On the other hand, the students might have the inclination for reading mystery novel. As they are students, they have no enough money to buy books, so they go to library and borrow mystery novel. And this results into frequently checked out of mystery novel in the register of public library.

Thirdly, in the above statements the author did not mention about any details of two survey. May be the target group of two independent survey were different and these two different groups have different reading habits. This might result into different findings. So, without knowing details about the two survey, it is totally absurd to claim that the first survey had misrepresented the reading habit of Leevile. We also aware that taste is a continuous process and it changes over time. If there is significant time gap between conducting these two surveys, then with the time being it is also understandable that the taste of reading had also changed.

Finally, without knowing details about the two survey, we can not conclude one survey is erroneous and the other is right. The writers here made the same mistakes by claiming the first survey misrepresented the reading of the people of Leevile only based on the two different findings of two surveys. The authors did not mention any other information about these two distinct surveys. That's why the author’s claim is unconvincing and flawed.