“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

The argument states that the Hillview landfills is facing a serious unemployment problem as the Computech computer software programming company abandoned them. Also the town looks underdeveloped for decades. So they need to work on that to attract Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in their town to employ thousands of residents. So the author is asking City Council to authorise a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make the town attractive to this car manufacturing company. The argument is a bit poor in its proof and lacks certain evidences to reach to the conclusion.

Firstly, the argument states that last year Computech computer software programming company abandoned them and left their residents unemployed. Here the reason of their abandonment is not stated here. The company's leaving is very abrupt and it doesn't make any sense to leave all the resident unemployed suddenly. So they should ask the company of their sudden leaving. Also the possible reason of the company's leaving is employees poor work behavior as they are not interested it. The interest of employee is also not stated. So, the argument weaks there as well.

Secondly, the City Council is on a mission to develop the town to attract the Automobile company. But the residents here who are unemployed are not even asked what they want to do. If they want to join this company or not. As mentioned in above paragraph, the employee's interest is not addressed in argument. So it is not wise to jump to conclusion to attract Autotech company before surveying the resident. Also the town looks underdeveloped but its evidence isn't given as again resident's view isn;t portrayed here. So again the arguments weaks here as well.

The possible solution to make this argument more strong by adding proof and evidences. The survey of the residents should be done in order to reach the conclusion of attracting car manufacturing company. The opinions of residents in regards to development of the town should be added as for one person it may seem the town is underdeveloped but for others ut may not. So it is important to get their opinions or votes. Lastly, the author should ask the Computech company their reason of leaving so that they can work better on their mistakes and not make the same mistake again.

Hence, the argument by the author has poor and weak statements as it lacks evidences and statistics. The argument doesn't potray the resident's interest, opinion and their point of view. Addition of that will make the argument more strong.