In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

The topic of the argument demonstrates that profit comes after reducing the opening hour of the stores. This looks like a simple and easy going idea but in fact it is not that simple as explained by this prompt. There are several unforeseen aspects in an argument. This argument rife with holes in an assumption: argument is not cogent.

First of all, author argues that profit comes by reducing the operating expenses. This is completely unpersuasive: author does not say about the details of the expenses. To get the profit revenue must be higher; expenses should be lower. It is needed to provide the effective way to achieve the higher revenue. Perhaps adroit worker may recover the best policy by using their skill. Active workers take lower time to complete the any task, which helps to collect the more money; which help to reduce the expenses.

The second and still weak flaw in the assumption is that one movie stock holder follow the rule to closed the office at 6 o' clock. Perhaps, at the evening time more customer needed to buy the movie. If we close early, it plummeted, the collection and it led the loss. Quality is major thing to attract the customer. Stock holder may increase the price. For this purpose they can take suggestion from the clients.

The second and still another weak assumption is that by eliminating the the old stock helps to attract the new customer; whereas, many people are still like the old collection. Stock manager may put the part time worker with little salary. He can choose the time to sell the movies. Closing time reduction is not the solution for this task. In order to make the profit we can use other good ideas that are not explained by the author.

To recapitulate, the given argument is not persuasive; it is also incomplete. Careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it shows the little credible support to the argument's conclusion. To get the profit more details research is required.