Over the past decade, the price per pound of citrus fruit has increased

substantially. Eleven years ago, Megamart charged 5 cents apiece for lemons,

but today it commonly charges over 30 cents apiece. In only one of these last

eleven years was the weather unfavorable for growing citrus crops. Evidently,

then, citrus growers have been responsible for the excessive increase in the

price of citrus fruit, and strict pricing regulations are needed to prevent them from

continuing to inflate prices.”

The given statement might seem to make sense at first because the price of citrus fruit apparently increased six hundred percent over a period of 11 years. The citrus farmers have been blamed directly for the exponential rise in the price over this period and therefore it has been suggested that strict rules and policies should be set up to prevent the inflation of prices. Unfortunately, even though the suggestion of regulations seem logical but the line of reasoning here is weakened by several fallacies.

The first problem with the given argument is that no other factors have been mentioned during the period of more than a decade. The value of the currency might have changed or there might have been a huge inflation rate during the period. Furthermore, the prices of the raw materials has not been factored in. In addition to this, the operating costs such as transportation and storage of citrus fruits have not been evaluated.

The next major flaw with this line of reasoning is that only one year of severly bad weather has been suggested to have disrupted the growth of citrus fruits. since, it takes 5-8 years for citrus fruits to grow, even a single year might disrupt the cycle and hence might have affected the total output. In addition to this, the specific year during which the weather condition was poor has not been stated. it might be that the weather was extremely hazardous during the last year and this has resulted in a few hundred times increase in the price of citrus.

The last flaw in the report is that strict policying will restrict prices from increasing at such a high rate. The case is often concurrent since if the rules and regulations are too harsh, then citrus growers might given up growing this particular fruit. As a result, there will be lower quantity of citrus supplied in the market. hence, due to the lower supply at the same demand, the prices of citrus is likely to increase even more.

Therefore, with the different problematic issues identified in the given report, I am unconvinced that the strategy of controlling the price is going to have a positive impact on the ciprus market price. A further examination of the other factors, including data regarding the country's inflation rate, the weather conditions, market supply and demand and the overall effect of strict rules on the output need to be conducted before a decision can be made about this seemingly uncontrollable situation.