People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

In the recent decades, there has been a trend to drink more sugar-rich or sweet drinks compared with malted or other beverages. Although the reasons for this might be a combination of marketing and changes in people's lifestyle, however I believe that with the right steps, people may be able to overcome this problem.

To begin with, there are a multitude of causes related to why people often drink sugar-rich drinks. First of all, drinking these sweetened juices often allows the person to feel refreshed and energetic during the busy hours of the day. Secondly, even though these drinks might not mention it, there is some caffeine added, which stimulates people to think faster and proactively. Finally, these drinks are often marketed to a certain group of people as offering an alternative to health damaging alcoholic drinks. However, even though most people might not realize it, these sugary drinks are often more harmful than many other beverages out there. For example, the American temperance association recently found out that people drinking these carbohydrate rich drinks may suffer from high blood pressure and gastronomical problems.

There are various effective ways to reduce people from consuming these sugary liquids. The most basic step is to avoid watching any sort of advertisements or media which actively promote these drinks. The next step is to keep an alternative to these sugar-coated materials, especially those juices which are high in minerals and vitamins. Finally, by adopting a healthy lifestyle and regularly keeping track of the dietary intake, a person may consciously avoid such derogatory drinks. For instance, in Japan, people have stopped taking artificial sugars and have switched their diet to fruits and vegetables.

All in all, the effects of having such high levels of sugar in our diet is leading to many diseases and to avoid these, everyone must proactively change their food intake and lifestyle. It is essential both for the health of individuals and the society, that these menace that might cause extreme cases of health problems in the future is taken care of.