Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly

The author of the prompt assumes that cell phones take the major blame for sidewalk rage and that banning them should solve the majority of the problems. To further validate his or her point, the author states that Middletown has recently passed a ban on cellphones on sidewalks and have seen a decrease in the number of sidewalk crimes.

The author takes a lot of unstated assumptions while making this argument. The first assumption is that people using their cellphones slow down the oncoming sidewalk traffic which is not always correct. What if the sidewalks are broken or there are no proper sidewalks? What if the city of Centerville has recently been building new sidewalks that cause this sidewalk rage? This unbuilt road can cause people of the city to get frustrated and damage the city council's property. Also, very naive reasoning given against cell phone usage is that people walk on to roads while using them which is an absurd assumption to make. People are more likely to walk on roads if the sidewalks are under construction or broken than if they are using cell phones.

The author then gives the example of Middletown and says that since the ban was in effect no complaints have arrived and the incidents of sidewalk rage have also decreased significantly. This can mean one of two things. Either banning cellphones was actually useful or that due to the ban people were unable to register their complaints via a cellphone. Also, the author of the prompt says that reported incidents have gone down significantly. But what if the rates of sidewalk crime are already low in Centerville as compared to Middletown. Without providing any numbers it will be difficult to reach any conclusion. Moreover, other factors like the population of the city, the infrastructure provided by the city council, the condition of sidewalks etcetera play an important role that the author has conveniently avoided.

Another assumption that the author makes is that the children are smaller in height and thus would be difficult to identify while using a cellphone. This sounds like a far-fetched assumption to make. It depends on whether the user of the cellphone is using the cellphone to make calls or to look intently at the screen. So a better way around the issue is to ban texting but not ban making calls. Cause, the users are more aware of where they are walking while making calls but the same cannot be said for texting.

After reviewing such unstated assumptions we find many logical flaws in the argument presented and it would be better if a detailed analysis was done before reaching to hasty measures like banning cellphones.