"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It seems axiomatic that prohibiting skateboarding in central plaza can increase the overall number of shoppers in central plaza. To justify this recommendation, the author cites that the popularity of skateboarding has increased significantly while the number of shoppers has decreased steadily in last two years. while supporting the recommendation, however, the author makes several assumptions that cannot be taken for granted. thus, in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the expected results, many questions should be answered.

As a threshold matter, the author hastily assumes that the cause regarding the reduction of number of shoppers is the increased popularity of skateboarding. Although this might be the case, it is possible that the cause is related to other factors, such as economical or fashion trend over the past two years. if the global or regional economy suffered from severe crisis over the past two years, then the contraction of the number of shoppers might have stemmed from the crisis. Perhaps, goods from internet shopping have been more popular and even cheaper than that from central plaza, making less people shopping in central plaza. therefore, it is hard to regard the number of shoppers to be increased by forbidding the skateboarding, if other factors contributing the number is still significant. thus, the question regarding the other factors that can influence the total amount of shoppers in central plaza should be answered in order to assess the recommendation.

even conceding that the other factors but the increased popularity of skateboarding have influenced the total number of shoppers slightly, it is possible that there is no such cause and effect relation toward the popularity of skateboarding and the number of shoppers. it is still possible that past two years are somewhat extraordinary, that many people disinclined to go to shopping in central plaza. also, the increased popularity of skateboarding might positively affect the total number of shoppers, if people who want to enjoy the skateboarding are tend to shop after they enjoy the skateboarding. Hence, the question regarding the relationship between the surged popularity of skateboarding and the reduction of shoppers should be answered.

Finally, the argument is still vulnerable in that the author unfairly posits that the surged amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza is caused by the increased popularity of skateboarding. it is also possible that majority of the people who fling their litter around the plaza are shoppers, not people who come plaza to enjoy skateboarding. In this regard, prohibiting the skateboarding cannot help the reduction of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. therefore, the question about the relation between the people who fling their litter and their purpose to come to the plaza should be answered.

In sum, since numerous assumptions are applied to the recommendation, it remains fragile in its form. therefore, questions proposed above need to be answered for better appraisal about whether the recommendation is likely to give expected result.