Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

The writer of the argument recommends that the city ban skateboarding in Central Plaza; because of the fact that skateboarders undermine shopping owners’ business and lead to increase the amount of trashes and vandalisms there; however, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that many Central Plaza shop owners believe that the decrease in their business is because of the increase in the number of skateboard users in the Plaza. However, there is lack of evidence to prove the writer assumption in that it is possible that these skateboarders are among the people who came to the Central plaza and shopped. Or maybe, there is a new shopping center near Central plaza is just opening and with consideration to this, the reason why shop owners’ business collapsed is that the new one accommodates more equipment for shoppers, even skateboarders. Therefore, the popularity of skateboarding is not the key for decreasing in shop owners’ businesses.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that there has been a dramatic increase in the amount of trashes and vandalism due to increasing number of skateboarders. However, this is not the case. Maybe the men who are responsible for cleaning the Central Plaza up did not do their responsibility properly, so the amount of trashes increased. Another problem with the assumption is that there is no evidence to prove that the people, who did vandalism there, were skateboarders. Perhaps other groups came to the central Plaza and did this in order to send their message about recent shopping mall failure and trash augmentation.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the businesses in Central Plaza will return to its high level as the same as it was 2 years ago if skateboarding is banned. However, there is no evidence to illustrate that 2 years ago they were in fabulous business condition, maybe their condition have few differences in comparison with present, because people thought their products were expensive. Or maybe the country’s economic situation was changed in the past 2 years due to inflation and that is the reason why people hesitate to buy the same products, they bought in past 2 years. Hence, prohibiting the skateboarders in Central Plaza may not change shop keepers’ businesses.

In the final analysis, the writer’s recommendation cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is dubious. The recommendation can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.