“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The author's conclusion, to revert back to previous timing's of the weather and local news to it's former level is based on the evidence that viewer's complaints and decrease in advertisers were due the decrease in weather and local news durations. This argument is full of assumptions which requires certain evidence to be less ambiguous.

To begin, there is no evidence which connnects the loss of advertisers directly to decrease in local and weather news. It can be the case that they don't require advertisment for upcoming period of time. For instance, there are no advertisment related to fan or cooler in the winters. As there are only needed for summer season hence, there is no need for advertisment after summer season is complete. For this reason, it requires an evidence which directly states or estimates are the relation between advertiser's and news that is being broadcasted.

Secondly, there is no evidence which suggests that increase in the local and weather news duration will commensurately increase number of viewers. For instance, it may be possible that the number of complaints recieved concerning the decrease in local or weather news are just a few. In that case there is no reason to increase the duration of the two. Again, there is requirement of evidence (perhaps a survey) which gives us preference of the local people for the television broadcast.

Finally, there is no evidence which states that local buisnesses correspond to a significant amount of total revenue generated by the television station. It can be the case that local buiseness contribution to the revenue is negligible. Also, it is possible that local advertisers are decreasing but overall number of advertisers are increasing gradually. If that is the truth then it makes the argument weaker. Hence, there is a requirement for evidence which shows overall revenue with time.

In conclusion, author's argument as it stands now is completely flawed and requires further evidence to be e