"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

This memorandum is from the business manager of a television station, he is saying, to attract the more viewers which they assume that they are losing because of the prodcast of news program should bring back by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. Here, the author is taking conclusion on basis of assumption. There are three reason should be consider before concluding which I have mention in the below paraghraphs.

First of all, the manager is mentioning about the late-night news program is not doing well to attract the people but how many of viewers are watching that show? Yet was late night time, the author didn’t have mention the exact time which kind of make this assumption doubtful. May be that show was prodcasting so late that halfy amount of people were already slept. There is also chance that may be people didn’t like the way of reporter to convey the news? As if the reporter is unable to convey the same content of the news there will be chance of getting deletrioration in number of views. If this questions can affect the argue then there is chances of weaken the argument.

Secondaly, In addition the manager was saying about the complaints which received during the period of the period of late nightprogram, Hovever, the author didn’t have mention the precise number of complains, areas from where they are getting more complains, and specially the age group of people who are watching the late night shows were mostly youngsters, who kindly don’t like to watch the news at midnight? May be the manager was getting the complains from any specific area of the society, who don’t want to watch the news at late night? If this can merit the argument then there will weaken the argue.

The author is assuming by increase the prodcast of local news and weather report can help them to rise the number of the viewers. But may be there is a chance of getting opposite result? As this will going to against his assump conclusion.

At the end, Before taking any conclusion on assumption the author have to evaluate the different criterias. And have to come up with the detail report of data to strenghen the claim.