“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The certainity presented in the argument that restoring the local and weather news coverage by the television station will attract viewers to the program and avoid loses in the revenue is unfounded and dubious. A more detailed analysis is lacking and this can on the worst case be unproductive for the television station.

Firstly, increasing weather and local news is not supposed to guarantee more viewers to the television shows. This may allure the viewers in the primary phase, however, they will only be persistent on watching the shows if the shows are of quality and deliverance. No such argument is discussed where the business manager is talking about quality shows and peculiar interests of the public. Just launching the weather and local news without efficiency will not ensure more viewers.

Also, there is no evidence on the argument about the other television stations where they are delivering sufficient weather and local news and wheather they are either benefiting and losing the viewers and advertisements. In may be the case that there are already few well established television stations, which are gathering viewers and signing advertisement contracts. These shows may already be very popular among the viewers. If such is the case, the businesses requiring advertisements will prefer such television stations and may not be interested risking their money on other stations.

Moreover, a through analysis and recommendation from the public is lacking according to the statements in the argument. Without knowing if the public interests matches the one that they are delivering and whether the advertisements have a prospect in their television stations to gain advantage, such decisions could be vacuous.

The television station should be first well informed about the interests and need of the public. They should collect more information and recommendation from the public before taking such a decision. They should understand the current market and need of the businesses seeking advertisement. Only then, they should form a well devised plan to whether restore the time devoted to weather and local news or continue with the increased time to national news.