Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The writer of the argument suggests that in order to attract viewers to late-night news again, they should allocate more time of the program to local news and weather rather than national news; however, this recommendation cannot be correct because it relies on a series of doubtful speculations that I will delve into them below.

The first problem with the memorandum is lack of details. The writer points out that viewers have complained because of the content of the news. Nonetheless, there is no evidence to prove the authenticity of this assumption on the ground that we do not know how many people complains about the coverage of the news according to the population of the area or perhaps these complaints are related to a specific group who have a hostile purpose toward television policies because of their positions in society. Therefore, the argument's suggestion would be unreasonable without any explanation of the details of the complaints.

The mere fact that there is a negative correlation between the national news and the number of viewer cannot suffice to show that the viewers do not watch the late-night news program because of the broadcasting of cosmopolitan news. The writer presumes that people are more of local news than international one, so they do not keep abreast of news because of its content. it is not logical to draw conclusion based on this assumption. other factors can lead to viewers’ drop which are sadly lacking in this argument. perhaps viewers track news from other sources such as the internet on their phones during the day which is easier than being awake at night. these sources are replete with different kinds of news including national news, local events, and sports, to name but a few. Thus, it takes shorter time to exploit these sources than late-night news program. Maybe there are deficiencies in showing international news such as using invalid sources, having specific orientation that people do not appreciate.

The third problem with the argument involves the unconvincing assumption. The writers goes on to mention that viewers do not watch the program because of its coverage. The manager overlooks the fact the other ways can attract viewers to the late-night news rather than the type of the news. For instance, the manager can invite some commentators to explain the news down to the smallest details. He can also replace old news reporter with accomplished ones.

To sum up, the writers suggestion cannot be acceptable because it depends on some assumptions which are challenging. The writer can strengthen his recommendation by adding changing states or some details to the mentioned solutions.