Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The stated argument from the business manager of a television station is that to avoid losing any further advertising revenue, their corporation should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level has several assumptions which are given in the next three paragraphs.

Firstly, the statement in the argument that the complaints received from viewers were concerned with the corporation's coverage of weather and local new during the late-night shows has a questionable assumption that whatever the little amount of weather and local news shown to viewers is completely irrelevant and therefore does not suits the interest of the audience. Devoting more time to display local and weather news will not be a strong factor to increase the viewership because there is no quality content present in the news to entice the viewers. Therefore, restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its previous level won't specifically increase the viewership.

Secondly, it is concluded that local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night news program have canceled their advertising with the company has a strong assumption that the number of late night viewers of their channel has decreased. Over the time, it is highly possible the television's station popularity has decreased among the viewers. The advertising companies might be signing contracts with other popular news channels. Therefore, displaying more weather and local news does not guarantee the restoration of viewership and avoiding the loss of advertising revenue.

Thirdly, it is concluded that to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the corporation should restore the weather and local news to its former level has a significant assumption that the viewership might be decreasing because of the other factors such as the audience does not find the news anchors in the programs to be convnicing at all. It is also possible that the news channel has started promoting the false news and therefore the viewer have started to question to veracity of the content in the channel. Hence the viewers have decided to not watch the channel at all. Therefore, the company should check on these factors due to which they might be losing the viewers.

Therefore, the television station must consider the above stated assumptions before showing local and weather news in their channel during the late-night news.