Claim: In any situation, the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments.

Reason: Facts are objective, so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Persuasion can be considered as an art of making a person to either negotiate or to completely give up on a set of arguments under question. Whether it is a debate, where two persons are deliberately trying to make each other agree with certain things using facts, or an organization trying to hire future employees from a university, facts always come in handy to persuade the populace. In most cases, past performances are representative of what is going to happen next. For instance, the discovery of a laptop was only possible due to a Desktop. A Desktop made the scientists to believe in themselves that they can build a device that can be smaller and concomitantly more efficient. Therefore, facts and statistics are the cruces to persuade a person in general life.

Using the past performance data, the government can create the following year's budget. This gives the government to figure out the tribulations that are faced by their community. For instance, India's 2021 budget strategy focussed more on the import and export of the products. In the previous years, the government analyzed that the import and export department was deprived of resources, mainly money, to thrive into development. Though the department has lesser resources, they worked hard to manage their workflow. Hence, based on the facts and figures, the government believes that this department can do much better if they are alloted with more money.

COVID-19 (Coronavirus Disease - 2019) pandemic has taken millions of lives. It could have killed more than millions, but the populace around the globe have made locked in themselves at their homes. The people already have previous experiences based on other pandemics, and therefore, they were aware of the facts that they can only save their loved ones only if they stay at home for some time. Therefore, facts are persuading the populace to save themselves from a deadly virus.

Sometimes the emotional arguments can also help to persuade the students to develop their skillsets. The teachers in schools always persuade their students using the emotional speeches. They push their students by telling stories about the successful people in the globe. This helps to students to deal with their school subjects with finesse. Often time, these emotional arguments help a student to develop interests in a particular subject. For instance, English is a subject that is filled with emotional content. The poems and stories can persuade a student to select Literature as their university major.

Facts and statistics can always help a person to persuade others. Whether an employee is persuading his employer to increase the emolument against the facts about his work, or a student trying to persuade his parents to get a toy by showing them the good aspects of it, facts and statistics always build the discussion base for the person. However, the emotional arguments can also help to motivate a group of scientists to achieve breakthrough discoveries.