Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weahter and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late night news program have canceled their advertising contrscts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news program.

The above argument is written by a business manager of a television station. Here, the manager states that the decreased advertising on their channel is due to lack of time given to local news. However, the conclusion stated by him that they have to expand their coverage of weather and local news is, according to me based on dubious assertion given by him in the entire argument. Moreover the argument is full of loopholes and hence the conclusion overlooks certain crucial views regarding the effect on the television channel.

Firstly, the manager states that they have increased the time alloted to the national news and have reduced the number of hours given to weather and local news. Due to this they are receiving complains from viewers. However, the manager has not fully delineated the concern of the complains. He suggested that the viewers of the television station are concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news, but it is possible that they have complained about the excessive weather news which is not generally appreciated at late night. It might also possible that the customers or viewers who complaint about the weather and local news might not be that prime viewers of the station. It is also mentioned about the past complaints regarding the local news. For instance, if the complaint is increased only by a very small number then considering the fact of increasing complaints is insignificant to the station, because considering one on thousand viewers is not ver pragmatic choice for television stations.

Secondly, the manager states that the local business companies which invested in advertisement of the channel during late night news program have canceled their advertising contracts. Here, the managers made a guess that the companies have canceled their contracts because they have reduced the time for local and weather news. This is also fallacious because it is possible that the local news companies who invested has been closed or simply going through reccission.However, it is might be possible that the local business companies has found a better way of advertisement like newspapers or magazines which have potential readers that the company is specifically targeted for their business.

Thirdly, the manager states that by increasing the number of hours for local news and weather news they will eventually get their prime business investors. However, this conclusion is also made by an assumption that the business owners have canceled the contracts because the television station have reduced the time allocated to the local news and weather news. The manager have ignored the fact that if the business have found a more profound way of advertising to the local people then by increasing the time of local news will not help them get back their prime investors. Moreover, it is not an educated step to expand the coverage of weather and local news on all national news because by doing that the company might also lose the national businesses who invest in their station.

In sum, the manager of the company have to be more skeptical while investigating the loss of the station, because doing any thing wrong based on faulty facts can result in more degradation of the channels reputation and the income of the channel.