"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The memorandum talks about how reducing in devoted time to specific news type has affected their business. Due to increase in time for coverage news, complaints by viewer to television station, were mostly regarding local news and weather. Additionally, cancellation of advertisement contracts by local businesses suggests the restoration of time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. In the memorandum, the conclusion drawn by business manager was not justified by strong evidences.

Effects of a cause do not necessary implies the these effects has to be caused by that particular cause. There could be factors causing the effects. Like in this argument, most complaints concerned with coverage weather and local news during reduction of devoted to weather and local news, do not necessarily implies the reduction of time to be cause of it. These complaints concerned with coverage weather and local news, could be because of content of news or language of news. Complaints concerned with coverage weather and local news could have existed earlier in same number, and was not noticed anybody.

Similarly cancellation of advertisement contracts by local businesses suggests, does not provide sufficient and necessary information for restoration of time to former level. Does these advertisement contracts cancellation caused harm the overall profit of television station? Does these caused the reduction in revenue sources. It might be possible, television station have got national advertisement contracts, which were more profitable than local advertisement contracts, and television station has raised their prices for advertisement.

To sum up, the evidences provided in memorandum by business manager lacks on many grounds and can not lead up to solid conclusion, thus suggests the flaws in conclusion drawn. Use of vague term like 'most of the', instead of providing statistics, and nature of complain weaken the point to be used as solid evidence. Lack of information about cancellation of advertisement contracts by local businesses also does not justify the conclusion.