"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The memorandum from the business manager of a television station comes to a solution to restore the former level of weather and local news. The complaints by viewers and revoking advertising contracts from local businesses. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated two possibilities must be proved with evidence.

First of all, what if the complaints received by viewers concerning local and weather news have no relation with national news scheduled late night? It is possible that viewers are unhappy because of some other reasons like the content shown is not appropriate or the time when its forecast is inappropriate. Further, most people like to watch weather news and local news in the early morning while having breakfast. If either of these scenarios has merit then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weekend.

Secondly, what if the local businesses sponsoring the advertisements are unsatisfied by the station? It is possible that they are not paid enough or they don't see any impact on the sales of their product by advertising during late-night news. For instance, viewers watching late-night news are very few so they might not be interested in the extra stuff like these advertisements. Further, it's a human tendency to avoid unwanted stuff, they might switch the channel when they see advertisements telecasted. If the above is true then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide the evidence for two stated possibilities (in the form of systematic research) then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation of restoring the weather and local news to its former level for better stability of their station.