In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The city government of mason city has planned to clean up mason river and devote more money in the budget to riverside recreational facilities. The city government came up with this recommendation as residents of mason city rank water sports like swimming, fishing, and boating as their favorite recreational activities. Since for years there have been complaints from residents about contamination and false smell from river, it has affected recreational activities. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated three-question must be answered.

First of all, how are recreational activities such as swimming, boating, fishing, etc related to the river? it is possible that residents of mason city are well trained in water activities under proper guidance. Not necessarily because of mason river flowing through their city they rank in water sports. Further in prompt its also mentioned that mason river flowing through the city is rarely used for pursuits of water sports. if either of these scenarios has merit then the conclusion argument is significantly weekend.

secondly, how is the contamination of river linked to an increase in recreational activities? the conclusion states that the government is planning to clean the river in order to increase the recreational activities, where it is possible that these both are independent issues. Firstly the river can be contaminated by daily household activities like washing, bathing of wild animals, throwing wastes, etc due to which false odor is generated. secondly, the reason for the decrease in recreational activities maybe lack of interest, health issues, the dearth of proper guidance, etc. if the above is true then the argument does not hold any water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. if the government is able to answer above mentioned questions with more evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research) then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation of planning the river and devote more money to increase riverside recreational activities in mason city