"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

According to the manager of the television station, lately their channel is devoting majority of the late night news slot to national news rather than local and weather news. During this time period they received complaints from its audiences about the coverage of local and weather news and also they are losing many of their advertisement contracts. Therefore, the station is deciding to give more time slot to local and weather news program to avoid any further loss of its advertisement programs and to attract more users.

To start with, the manager and television station assumes that they are losing audience because they have reduced the time slot of local and weather news. But it was stated that they are receiving the complaints from audience about the "coverage" of local and weather news. This does not clarify the nature of complaints they are receiving from audience. May be the audiences are not happy about the quality and credibility of the content. The complaints of the audience might not relate to the amount of broadcasting time. The manger has never mentioned about what type of complaints they are actually receiving and what audiences actually want. Therefore, it is hard to tell that mere increment of broadcasting time of local and weather news will solve the problem.

Other major thing stated is the loss of its advertisement contract with local advertising companies. It is not mentioned here the actual data of the profit or loss happening here. The manger mentioned the companies are cancelling their contracts and could be many reasons for that. They might be some profit percentage disputes or some other mal-functioning or disagreement could be happening between advertising companies and management of television station which might be leading to such situation. May be the advertisement companies are getting better deals from some other news channels. Also, some companies’ withdrawal does not prove the loss in revenues. There may be other companies and contracts (in much larger amount) could be coming in for the station. Therefore, without the actual net amount it is hard to determine whether television station is actually facing financial loss or not.

Also simply assuming that increment of slot will bring back the audience is invalid. There could be reasons many reasons that the audiences are losing interests in the channels. For instance, a new and better news channel came into the market, pulling all the audience towards it by providing fresh and exciting content. May be the host of this channel has been changed, who was the major attraction for most of its audiences. Hence, the television station needs to dig deeper into the problem to come up with its resolution. One possible way is to conduct a survey among its audiences.

Therefore, there are various different dimensions (as discussed above), on which the manger and his team need to analyse upon before coming into any conclusion to resolve their problems.