"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

Business Manager of a television station conclude that in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, they should restore time devoted to its former level. But, his conclusion with his explanation does not seems appropriate and convincing.

Firstly, business manager has not clearly explain about the medium through which they are receiving complaints. Whether complaints are published in newspaper or on public interviews which are authentic source and it force manager to think about this issues and take actions but if this complaints are based on internet or on some web articles then they should not be sure on it and take action but he should survey on it and be sure about it.

Secondly, late-night news are usually have less viewer as compare to day shows. Manager could start new day-time news in programs which is devoted to weather and local news to attract the viewers or they can divide time equally at late-night news for weather, national news and local news. Viewers would be happier if they receive all information at single program. Do, manager should think of combining these rather than cutting off it.

Thirdly, local businesses that used to advertise during late-night news programs cancelled their advertising contracts would not be related with their time devotee to national news. It would be rather that the local businesses are in loss or they are not satisfied with the behavior of the manager or stations itself. Manager should focus on why the local business partner are cancelling their contact with them not to conclude it with the assumption he have in this mind.

Therefore, it cannot be plausible to conclude for manager explanation on this topics as he have not provided any eloquent reason with proof. I completely disagree with manager.